My First Bet at the Races AND McFly Gig

Last weekend was a double whammy for firsts. My girlfriends and I went to Market Rasen Racecourse to watch some horseys run and jump. I also got to see one of all time favourite bands, McFly.

Now, if you’ve read My First Watch of War Horse you will know I’m not a very big fan of horses. But I was a good distance from them and they looked beautiful going around the Parade Ring. One in particular caught my eye. It was a  huge grey horse with a beautifully plaited mane and tail. It was stunning. As I knew very little about horse racing and how to pick a winner, I thought I would go with what I liked. So, I went to the man at the booth and saw that the horse I liked was called Silver Dragon. What a name! A beautiful horse, a fantastic name, but one problem: its odds was 25/1 in a 5 horse race. No else reckoned it was going to win. I ummed and ahhed for a minute but went with my instinct and bet £2 each way on him. Well…let’s just say my instinct didn’t prevail. Silver Dragon was trailing in last place for the whole race. Not my finest moment. It dampened my spirits until the final race. This race had a horse in it called Hannah’s Princess. My friend Hannah was with us but refused to bet. So, me and a couple of others bet on it as we felt it had special significance and was a good sign. She was in third out of five for most of the race. We had our whole group screaming for Hannah’s Princess and I think that she heard us as she pulled ahead. Leading the way of the finish line my friends and I were jumping and hugging each other with joy! I won a whole £3.50! I know, I’m a big spender! It was such a good high to end on though. I was really chuffed.

1238964_10151622994782636_911300270_nThe second half of the day was just as exciting for me. I have loved McFly since they started 10 years ago. When they came on stage, I felt just like my eleven year old self. I knew all of the words to all of the songs and even had a little dance. We didn’t joining the twelve year olds crowding the front of the stage, but we could hear and see McFly from where we were. In addition, they were so funny. They are real entertainers and I just want to see them again and again. I want a miniature version to keep in my pocket, so I can pull them at and ask them to sing to me if I’m feeling down.

1185334_10151622951562636_839907790_n

It was a perfect evening to spend with friends. I think I need to learn more about picking winners before I go again though…

Leave a comment